Skip to main content
19 July 2021 | dataset

Climate Risk and Adaptation Country Profile-Papua New Guinea

At 463,000 square kilometers, Papua New Guinea (PNG) is the largest Pacific island state. Located in the South
West Pacific, it is bound by the Gulf of Guinea and the Coral Sea to the south, Indonesia to the west, the Solomon
Sea to the east, and the Bismarck Sea to the northeast. PNG comprises the eastern half of New Guinea island, four additional islands (Manus, New Ireland, New Britain, and Bougainville), and 600 smaller islets and atolls to the north and east. PNG is home to a diverse range of ecosystems, including mountain glaciers, humid tropical
rainforests, swampy wetlands, and immaculate coral reefs. Approximately 30% of the country’s landmass is covered by forests and four of the world’s remaining significant forests are found in PNG. In addition to harboring abundant natural resources such as gold, copper, oil and natural gas, PNG boasts 7% of the world’s biodiversity.

Field Value
Publisher PNG Conservation and Environment Protection Authority, Climate Change and Development Authority in PNG
Modified 15 February 2022
Release Date 19 July 2021
Source URL…
Identifier ab87b84b-6190-43dd-aa6a-e63c29384c15
Spatial / Geographical Coverage Location Papua New Guinea
Relevant Countries Papua New Guinea
Language English
License Public
[Open Data]
Author World Bank